iwatch v a proper folding watch computer

Some people work hard to get rich. Some work hard so they can change the world. Some work hard to build political power. Some work hard to make their families proud of them. Some, because they simply enjoy it.

Me, I work hard because I love saying “I told you so”. When I were a lad… OK, in the early 90s when I was still a budding futurologist, I was writing about where PCs might go. Here is one of my imaginings from back then: a folding screen touch sensitive watch computer.

Watch computer

Folding Touch-Screen Watch Computer

The file has been dragged between so many computers now I can’t even find when I wrote it, but it is probably datable from the clip art, and when 28 Feb was a monday. Anyway, the idea is starting to become feasible now. The icons are for what we now think of as apps of course, a few of which I don’t even have yet on my iphone or Nexus 10.1. The display could easily be built now, and it would fold up into a watch. Lots of watches are quite big so it would be a decent size too. And the idea was that the strap would act as both battery and antenna. All of that is buildable. Now.

Compare with Apple’s latest dream:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/apple/9861891/Apple-testing-smart-watch-designs.html

iwatch__1__2439172b

I think Apple needs a better vision, but although it looks even more pants than mine it does more or less the same things, albeit via an iphone. I bet Samsung do the full folding watch one soon.

2 responses to “iwatch v a proper folding watch computer

  1. Hi Ian.

    Just catching up with your latest weekly digest posts and thought you might like to read about Samsung’s challenge to the I-watch. It’s not a folding screen as yet, but that can’t be far behind now!

    http://blog.laptopmag.com/samsung-galaxy-altius-smart-watch-leaked

    http://m.t3.com/news/samsung-galaxy-altius-smartwatch-interface-reportedly-leaked

    All the best

    Leigh…

    Like

Leave a Reply

